The Watch House at George Town in Northern Tasmania is the historic old Gaol site
Featuring a range of displays conveying the region's rich history, the present building was built in 1843 and was reopened in 2004 as part of George Town's Bicentenary of European settlement.
It features a wonderful model village that allows visitors to imagine what early nineteenth-century life was like in George Town, and an acclaimed ‘Departures & Arrivals’ display describes the Female Factories and links to the convict experience.
Visitors can enter a primitive cell to get an idea of the tough life of prisoners awaiting trial or view the changing displays featuring the best in Tasmanian arts and crafts.
The Community History Room contains a wealth of local information for historians and those researching their ancestry.
Fantastic display of excellent replicas. Very informative documents and an outstanding guided tour. Most enjoyable museum visited over 2 week holiday.